Dallas Seavey Wins The 2016 Iditarod Sled Dog Race In Record Time — March 15

March 14, 2016 —
After the ninth full day of competition at the 2016 Iditarod, the standings of the top ten mushers are as follows:

1.   Dallas Seavey reached Nome Tuesday morning in record time, for his fourth win in five years. His sled raced with only 6 dogs. At the finish line his two lead dogs, Reef and Tide, were crowned with garlands of yellow roses. As is traditional with the iditarod, it is the dogs who are named winners of the race, not the musher. The time registered was 8 days 11 hours, 20 minutes, 16 seconds.
2.   Mitch Seavey, the father of Dallas Seavey, came in approximately 45 minutes after his son. The Seaveys’ teams finished 1st and 2nd in the 2015 Idiatrod, as well.

Still running:
3.  Brent Sass
4.  Aliy Zirkle
5.  Wade Marrs
6.  Peter Kaiser
7.  Joar Leifseth Ulsom
8.  Nicholas Petit
9.  Ralph Johanessen
10. Jeff King

Lance Mackey, 4 time Iditarod champion and subject of the film The Great Alone, dropped out of the race. His brother, Jason Mackey, is in 36th place. 

71 teams are still running.

Rent or buy The Great Alone today.
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on RedditShare on LinkedInEmail this to someone